Jaati Adavu in Bharatanatyam

August 18th, 2009 by Anjali

A Jaati is a pattern that  gives us the basic feel of a Thalam. Read the article Tala System to get a hang of how it works. What you need to understand as a beginner of Bharatanatyam is that there are five Jaatis. Every jaati is denoted by a set of syllables. They are:

The Tishra, Chatushra, Khanda, Mishra and Sankeerna.

They are nothing but rhythmic patterns followed in Indian classical music. In Jaati Adavu we will learn feet movements on these patterns. The focus is on the leg movements. Hand movements keep varying as per need. Following are the videos for the jaati Adavu

1. Jaati Adavu in Bharatanatyam part 1 (Tishra)

2. Jaati Adavu in Bharatanatyam Part 2 (chatushra, khanda)

3. Jaati Adavu in Bharatanatyam part 3 (Mishra, Sankeerna)

Tags:   · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

Leave A Comment

9 responses so far ↓

  • 1 deeptha Oct 1, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    hi anjali,

    first of all i would like to congratulate you for this amazing website.its a great help for my daughter .shes learning the alarippu steps now.when will you post those steps? eagerly waiting for that.which are the good cds available online for alaripu songs in pandanallur style?please help

  • 2 raji May 21, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    I actually learned alarippu and urs is kinda different than how my teacher learned it. We do the atami starting from up down right left..onwards

  • 3 niva Feb 13, 2011 at 5:02 am

    i want to know the 1st and 2nd jati of sree krishna varnam

  • 4 Nikhila Sai May 21, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    What is Gathi?

  • 5 Dhanushima Chiranji Pathirana. Dec 25, 2016 at 8:44 pm

    It is very useful website to follow.I love this website very much.

  • 6 siddharth Jan 15, 2017 at 6:15 am

    so nice

  • 7 geethunair Jan 15, 2017 at 11:49 am

    Tnku so much… Its very useful

  • 8 geethunair Jan 15, 2017 at 11:50 am

    Hi.. Thnku so much.its very useful

  • 9 DR. KHANINDRA DAS Dec 27, 2018 at 9:47 am

    It is a nice website thank you so much