Menu Close

Head movements or Shirobheda

Head movements are also called Shirobheda. Shira or shirasa meaning ” Head” in sanskrit. The headย  movements refer to the head positions, while expressing a particular bhava. There are Nine head movements.

  1. Sama : The head kept straight
  2. Udvahitam : Head Looking upwards
  3. Adhomukham : Looking Down
  4. Alolitam: Circular Movement of the head
  5. Dhutam: Right to left movement of the head
  6. Kampitam: Up and down nod of the head
  7. Paravrittam: Brisk turning of the head to the right or left
  8. Ukshiptam: Head is turned and raised or a slanting position of the head.
  9. Parivahittam: Quick small shakes of the head.

Shloka :

Sama udvahitam adhomukha-lolitam Dhutam
kampitam cha paravrittam ukshiptam parivahitam
navdhakathitam shirasa natyashastra visharadaihi.

The following Video will demonstrate the Head movements.


  1. Madhvi

    Hi Anjali

    You are taking dance to a whole new level by teaching it online. I was learning dance like 15 years ago and want to get back to learning more. I have been watching your videos. But it would really help if you could post the complete video of alarippu without any breaks. that way we can learn and also assess how much we have learnt. It is also important for us to remember the sequence too. Will be grateful to you for that.


  2. Uma maheshwari

    it was do helpfull thank u so much anjali akka ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.